INTERNATIONAL

Violence is an international problem

Even today, LGBTQ + people are often targeted. People whose's LGBTQ+ identity is know can be exposed to discrimination, such as difficulty finding a job or a place to stay, and to different types of violence.

For IDAHOT 2021 we have talked with 9 LGBTQ+ people around the world who have faced violence because of their identity.  

Warning: shocking content

In recent decades, many advances have been made in the legal sphere and in the representation of LGBTQ + people, which could give the impression that equality has been achieved. This is unfortunately not true.

In 2017, the world learned that LGBTQ + people in Chechnya were being sent to concentration camps. Between 2017 and 2020, the U.S. government tried to repeal several rights for trans people, and murders of trans people doubled during that time. In 2018 in Brazil, it was Marielle Franco, a black and openly lesbian politician, who was shot dead in the street. In Ukraine and Senegal, religious leaders have fueled rumors that Covid-19 is divine punishment for immoral behavior - scapegoating LGBTQ+ people for the global pandemic.

The examples of violence against LGBTQ+ people are numerous and affect all regions of the world, which is why it is important to continue to fight for the recognition and inclusion of all sexual orientations and gender identities.

Chiffres

86% Increase in homicides and violence committed against members of LGBTQ+ communities in 2017 in the United States. (NCAVP, 2017)

36% Increase in the number of anti-LGBTQ+ acts in 2019 in France. (Ministry of the Interior, France, 2020)

48%  of young Canadians who told their sport teammates about their sexual orientation reported experiencing homophobic behavior, including bullying, physical assault and strong language. (Monash University, 2020)

68%  of LGBTQ+ respondents in the UK said they avoided holding hands with a partner in public for fear of negative or violent reactions. (Government Equilities Office, 2018)

263 hate crimes targeting sexual orientation were reported by canadian police forces in 2019 , more than half of which were classified as violent. (Statistic Canada, 2019)
 

When showing your colors is a crime

poster engl Mona.jpg
poster engl Ramy.jpg
poster engl Justin.jpg

There are LGBTQ + people in all countries. What differs from one country to another is the place we give them. Although homophobia and transphobia can be found in all countries the rights that are granted to LGBTQ + people differ greatly from country to country. In many countries, it is forbidden to love and have sex with a person of the same sex.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

Every year, the condition of LGBT people tends to improve around the world. Activists and allies around the world made this progress and are still working on it. However, these advances are not homogeneous: in many countries, it is still dangerous to display your colors.

Being yourself shouldn't be a crime, yet it still is in 72 states. Many countries have made progress in the past decade, but a great deal of work remains to ensure basic rights for all. This is why the fight against homophobia and transphobia must continue.

nouvelle carte.png

NUMBERS

(in 2018)

  • 26 states recognize marriage for same-sex couples. 29 states recognize their right to adoption.

  • 124 states allow same-sex relationships. This does not mean, however, that these relationships are accepted by society. In some states, homosexuality is legal, but hampered by other laws (eg against propaganda).

  • 72 states criminalize same-sex relationships.

  • 8 states punish same-sex relationships with the death penalty.

For more information, see the ILGA report from which this data was taken

Canadians who know approximately how many countries criminalize homosexuality:

sondage 2018 international.png

ISSUES

LGBT people face a lot of issues, but here are some key issues that are found in almost every country.

DISCRIMINATIONS

109 states have no laws protecting LGBT people from discrimination. In these countries, it is legal to fire someone from their job, evict them from their accommodation and deny them a service because of their sexual orientation, gender identity or gender expression. Some countries have laws that protect in one area (eg employment), but not in others (eg housing). In addition, the laws may depend on the regions of the country.

VIOLENCE

All communities of sexual and gender diversity can be victims of psychological and physical violence. However, this violence is difficult to study because it is not always reported. For example, Transrespect versus Transphobia Worldwide reports 677 murders of trans people in Brazil between 2010 and 2015.

RECOGNITION OF TRANS PEOPLE

Many countries do not allow the change of the gender designation on official documents. Those that allow it often make it a difficult-to-access process that involves medical requirements, such as multiple surgeries, which often result in sterilization of the individual. The degree of difficulty and the conditions of access to the change of designation of sex and name depend on the country.

CONVERSION THERAPY

This practice which aims to “cure” homosexuality or transidentity is prohibited in only 3 countries: Brazil, Ecuador and Malta. It can take several forms including psychoanalysis and aversion therapy (causing an unpleasant or painful sensation when the person has homosexual feelings). In addition to not producing the results it boasts, conversion therapy can cause anxiety, depression, and even suicidal ideation.

SOLUTIONS

Justin, Russia

I come from a family like any other. My life changed when I turned 14 and realized I was gay. When my parents heard about it, they asked me: "Are you PD? I replied "No, I'm gay." They confiscated my computer and my phone. They stopped talking to me, they told me I was the shame of the family. I started protesting against homophobia and was arrested several times. I was beaten by the police and other students at school. I couldn't get a good education so I came to Canada

Mona, Burundi

My life in Burundi was complicated. My family did not accept me as a trans woman, and Burundi criminalizes the LGBTQ community. I couldn't take public transport or go out freely for fear of having problems. I was the legal representative of an LGBTQ association in Burundi, so I was accused of promoting homosexuality and put in a male prison. Fortunately I was released and was able to leave the country before being arrested again.

Ramy, Tunisia

In Tunisia, to be gay is to be criminal. From the moment you're born, you wait to get arrested. I had a lot of problems because of my activism: death threats, threats from the police, arrests for nothing, etc. I have a tattoo in Arabic that says "They come into houses to forbid love". Every time I watch it it reminds me that in Tunisia, people can get 3 years in prison just for being gay, lesbian or trans.

Listen to the full testimonials

2009_homosexualité_pas_de_frontières

RESOURCES:

ILGA

Rainbow Railroad

Aegis

Amnesty International

United Nations (Free and Equal)

 

Find out more about the 2018 campaign:

In 2018, Fondation Émergence joined forces with Rethink (creative agency) for its awareness campaign on the rights of LGBT people around the world.

Awards received for our campaign

1. One Show (NYC): OR Pencil: Design-Brand Installations

2. Marketing Awards - Public Service (Toronto): Argent- Public Service - Ambient - Large Scale, Argent - Public Service - Online Film Single, Bronze - Public Service - Experiential / Special Events / Stunts

3. Shopper Innovation - Public Service (Toronto): Gold: Original Idea, Gold: Reinvention

4. Créa Prize - Infopresse Competition (Montreal): Grand prize: Creativity - outreach, Prize: Digital - non-profit organization / humanitarian cause / interest group, Prize: non-profit organization / humanitarian cause / group of interest

5. Cannes International Festival of Creativity (France): Bronze Lion: Outdoor Lions

6. Applied Arts interactive & Advertising: Winner: Experiential / Artistic single, Winner: Pro Bono Single

7. Applied Arts Design 2019: Winner: Pro Bono Design, Winner: PSA Design

8. Atomic Awards: Silver: Online Video, Bronze: Atomic Idea

INTERNATIONAL

Des violences partout dans le monde

Encore aujourd’hui les personnes LGBTQ+ sont souvent prises pour cibles. Les personnes dont l'identité LGBTQ+ est connue peuvent être exposées à de la discrimination, comme par exemple la difficulté à trouver un emploi ou un logement, et à différents types de violence physique, psychologique et sexuelle.

Pour notre campagne de 2021, nous avons parlé à 9 victimes de violences anti-LGBTQ+ à travers le monde. 

Attention : contenu choquant

Dans les dernières décennies, de nombreux progrés ont été fait au niveau légal et dans la représentation des personnes LGBTQ+, ce qui pourrait donner l'impression que l'égalité est atteinte. Ce n'est pourtant pas le cas.

En 2017, le monde apprend que des personnes LGBTQ+ en Tchétchénie sont envoyées dans des camps de concentration. Entre 2017 et 2020, le gouvernement américain a remis en question plusieurs droits pour les personnes trans, et les meutres de personnes trans ont doublé durant cette période. En 2018 au Brésil, c’est l’élue Marielle Franco, noire et ouvertement lesbienne, qui est abattue dans la rue par plusieurs coups de feu.  En Ukraine et au Sénégal, des chefs religieux ont alimenté les rumeurs selon lesquelles le Covid-19 est une punition divine pour un comportement immoral - ce qui fait que les personnes LGBTQ+ sont devenues des boucs émissaires

Les exemples sont nombreux et touchent toutes les régions du monde, d’où l’importance de poursuivre le combat pour la reconnaissance et l’inclusion de toutes les personnes issues de la diversité sexuelle et de genre

Chiffres

86% d'augmentation des homicides (52 décès, un record en 20 ans) commis contre des membres de la communauté LGBTQ+ aux États-Unis (NCAVP, 2017)
36% d'augmentation du nombre de victimes d’actes anti-LGBTQ+ en 2019 en France, où 1870 victimes d’infractions homophobes ou transphobes ont été recensées (Ministère de l’Intérieur, France, 2020)
48% des jeunes Canadien·ne·s LGBTQ+ qui ont parlé de leur orientation sexuelle à leurs coéquipiers ont rapporté avoir été victimes de comportements homophobes, dont l’intimidation, les agressions physiques et le langage ordurier. (Monash University : 2020)
68%  des personnes LGBTQ+ interrogées au Royaume-Uni ont déclaré qu’elles évitaient de se tenir la main avec un·e partenaire en public par crainte des réactions négatives ou violentes. (Government Equilities Office, 2018)

263 crimes haineux ciblant l’orientation sexuelle ont été rapporté par les corps de police canadiens en 2019, plus de la moitié ont été classés violents (Statistique Canada, 2019). 

Quand afficher ses couleurs est illégal

posters fr 2018 Mona.jpg
posters fr 2018 Ramy.jpg
posters fr 2018 Justin.jpg

 Il y a des personnes LGBTQ+ dans tous les pays. Ce qui diffère d’un pays à l’autre, c’est la place qu’on leurs fait. Bien qu’on puisse trouver de l’homophobie et de la transphobie dans tous les pays les droits qui sont accordées aux personnes LGBTQ+ diffèrent grandement selon les pays. Dans plusieurs pays, il est interdit d’aimer et d’avoir des relations sexuelles avec une personne de même sexe.

Chaque année, la condition des personnes LGBT tend à s’améliorer dans le monde. Des activistes et allié.es du monde entier ont permis ces progrès et y travaillent encore. Ces avancées ne sont cependant pas homogènes : dans de nombreux pays, il est encore dangereux d’afficher ses couleurs.

 

Être soi-même ne devrait pas être un crime, pourtant c’est toujours le cas dans 72 états. Beaucoup de pays ont fait des progrès dans la dernière décennie, mais il reste énormément de travail pour assurer des droits fondamentaux à tous. C’est pourquoi la lutte contre l’homophobie et la transphobie doit continuer.

nouvelle carte.png

CHIFFRES

(en 2018)

  • 26 états reconnaissent le mariage pour les couples de même sexe. 29 états reconnaissent leur droit à l’adoption.

  • 124 états permettent les relations entre personnes de même sexe. Cela ne signifie pas pour autant que ces relations sont acceptées par la société. Dans certains états, l’homosexualité est légale, mais entravée par d’autres lois (ex : contre la propagande).

  • 72 états criminalisent les relations entre personnes de même sexe.

  • 8 états punissent les relations entre personnes de même sexe par la peine de mort.

Pour plus d’informations consultez le rapport de l’ILGA dont sont issues ces données.

Canadien.ne.s qui savent approximativement combien de pays criminalisent l’homosexualité : 

sondage 2018 international.png

ENJEUX

Les personnes LGBT font face à beaucoup de problèmes, mais voici quelques enjeux clés qui se retrouvent dans la quasi-totalité des pays.

DISCRIMINATIONS

109 états n’ont aucune loi protégeant les personnes LGBT contre les discriminations. Dans ces pays, il est légal de renvoyer une personne de son travail, de l’expulser de son logement et de lui refuser un service à cause de son orientation sexuelle, de son identité de genre ou de son expression de genre. Certains pays ont des lois qui protègent dans un domaine (ex : emploi), mais pas dans d’autres (ex : logement). Par ailleurs les lois peuvent dépendre des régions du pays.

VIOLENCES

Toutes les communautés de la diversité sexuelle et de genre peuvent être victimes de violences psychologiques et physiques. Cependant, ces violences sont difficiles à étudier, car elles ne sont pas toujours signalées. Par exemple, Transrespect versus Transphobia Worldwide rapporte 677 meurtres de personnes trans au Brésil entre 2010 et 2015.

RECONNAISSANCE DES PERSONNES TRANS

De nombreux pays ne permettent pas le changement de la mention de sexe sur les documents officiels. Ceux qui le permettent en font souvent un processus difficilement accessible qui comporte des exigences médicales, comme des chirurgies multiples, qui entraînent souvent la stérilisation de l’individu. Le degré de difficulté et les conditions d’accès au changement de mention de sexe et de nom dépendent des pays.

THÉRAPIE DE CONVERSION

Cette pratique qui vise à « guérir » l’homosexualité ou la transidentité est interdite dans seulement 3 pays : le Brésil, l’Équateur et Malte. Elle peut prendre plusieurs formes dont la psychanalyse et la thérapie d’aversion (provoquer une sensation désagréable ou douloureuse lorsque la personne a des sentiments homosexuels). En plus de ne pas produire les résultats dont elle se vante, la thérapie de conversion peut causer de l’anxiété, de la dépression, voire des idéations suicidaires.

TÉMOIGNAGES

Justin, Russie

Je viens d’une famille comme les autres. Ma vie a changé quand j’ai eu 14 ans et que j’ai réalisé que j’étais gai. Quand mes parents l’on appris ils m’ont demandé : « T’es PD ? » j’ai répondu « Non, je suis gai ». Ils ont confisqué mon ordinateur et mon téléphone. Ils ont arrêté de me parler, ils m’ont dit que j’étais la honte de la famille. J’ai commencé à manifester contre l’homophobie et j’ai été arrêté plusieurs fois. Je me faisais battre par la police et par les autres élèves à l’école. Je ne pouvais pas accéder à une bonne éducation alors je suis venu au Canada

Mona, Burundi

Ma vie au Burundi était compliquée. Ma famille ne m’acceptait pas comme femme trans, et le Burundi criminalise la communauté LGBTQ. Je ne pouvais pas prendre les transports en commun ou sortir librement par peur d’avoir des problèmes. J’étais la représentante légale d’une association LGBTQ au Burundi, alors on m’a accusée de faire la promotion de l’homosexualité et on m’a mis dans une prison pour hommes. Heureusement j’ai été relâchée et j’ai pu quitter le pays avant de me refaire arrêter.

Ramy, Tunisie

En Tunisie, être gai c’est être criminel. À partir du moment où tu nais, tu attends de te faire arrêter. J’ai eu beaucoup de problèmes à cause de mon activisme : des menaces de mort, des menaces de la police, des arrestations pour un rien, etc. J’ai un tatouage en arabe qui dit « Ils rentrent dans les maisons pour interdire l’amour ». À chaque fois que je le regarde ça me rappelle qu’en Tunisie, les gens peuvent avoir 3 ans de prison juste parce qu’ils sont gais, lesbiennes ou trans.

Écouter les témoignages au complet

2009_homosexualité_pas_de_frontières

RESSOURCES:

ILGA

Rainbow Railroad

Égides

Amnesty International

Nations Unies (Libres et Égaux) 

 

En savoir plus sur la campagne 2018 : 

En 2018, la Fondation Émergence s'est associée à Rethink (agence créative) pour sa campagne de sensibilisation sur les droits des personnes LGBT dans le monde.

Prix reçus pour notre campagne

1. One Show (NYC) : OR Pencil : Design-Brand Installations

2. Marketing Awards - Public Service (Toronto) : Argent- Public Service - Ambient - Large Scale, Argent - Public Service - Online Film Single, Bronze - Public Service - Experiential/Special Events/Stunts

3. Shopper Innovation – Public Service (Toronto): Gold : Original Idea, Gold : Reinvention 

4. Prix Créa - Concours Infopresse (Montréal) : Grand prix : Créativité – rayonnement, Prix : Numérique - organisme à but non lucratif / cause humanitaire / groupe d'intérêt, Prix : Organisme à but non lucratif / cause humanitaire / groupe d'intérêt

5. Festival international de la créativité de Cannes (France) : Lion bronze : Outdoor Lions

6. Applied Arts interactive & Advertising: Gagnant:  Experiential / Artistic single, Gagnant: Pro Bono Single  

7. Applied Arts Design 2019: Gagnant: Pro Bono Design, Gagnant: PSA Design 

8. Atomic Awards: Argent: Online Video, Bronze: Atomic Idea